I am a Type 1 Diabetic who is under insured

Ive been a Type 1 diabetic since the early 90’s and I will forever live with this disease. There are (currently) no cures and I forever depend on insulin injections to live. There’s no alternative treatment. Diet and Exercise will not change that either.

Short and sweet: Without insulin I will DIE.

So, like with most medical issues someone would have, it takes a lot of doctors appointments, medical supplies and prescriptions to manage this disease. In order to have a health life you cannot play games. You have to ensure that you have enough testing supplies, needle tips, insulin, lancets, alcohol swabs and other things on a daily basis.

Affording these things are important. I always had a job since I was 14. I primarily needed to work for the Health Insurance. Being uninsured as a diabetic is a nightmare and very dangerous. The cost of supplies are extremely expensive at retail costs.

Here are the facts:
– People with diabetes who use insulin need this medication every day in order to live.
– The cost of insulin has risen steadily and steeply, creating financial hardships for individuals who rely on it to survive, particularly those who are uninsured or underinsured. Between 2002 and 2013, the average price of insulin nearly tripled.
– Insulin is frequently cited as one of the most expensive categories of drugs by private and government health care payers, with insulin leading the list of price hikes for non-generic drugs in a recent government report on Medicare spending.
– Insulin pricing is driven by a complex supply chain consisting of many players including manufacturers, wholesalers, pharmacy benefit managers, insurers and pharmacies.
– In much of Europe, insulin costs about a sixth of what it does in the United States; and
– The increased cost of insulin has resulted in a growing number of people with diabetes telling their health care providers they are unable to afford the insulin prescribed for them, thus exposing them to serious long and short term health consequences.

Since 2014(ish) the costs of my insulin are HUNDREDS of dollars (even after my coverage) a month. If you tally up the entire costs for everything I use a month……….I would pay over 400 dollars. As of this year, the cost of my copay went up and it’s getting impossible to afford. Being a diabetic I have these costs, plus my bills, food and gas. I could never live on my own at the rate things are for me currently.

I honestly have made my medications stretch. I have manipulated my insulin and not given myself the right amounts so I wouldn’t run out before I had money. I’ve called my insurance company, my providers, manufacturers and advocates to express my situation. I am not alone. I am just one out of thousands who have the same issue.

My main issue is my health coverage. I do not have options that would suit me and diabetes. I do not have the luxury or option for better coverage than what I currently have. Actually, we will never get anything better. I’ve spoken to the VP of HR and Benefits and was told this too. We will never have an HMO or PPO. We will only have an HRA or HSA. Thats it. I’m underinsured.

There’s something that you can do to help me. Sign this petition and tell your friends and family to sign and help. By being unable to afford insulin it will cause more harm than good to my life.

This should not be an issue, unfortunately it is.

https://donations.diabetes.org/site/SPageServer/?pagename=SD_Grassroots_Advocacy_Petition_Page

Leave a Reply

